What is Difference Between Cut and Clear in Creative Cloud Applications

Difference Between Cut and Clear in Creative Cloud Applications

You may have realized that Creative Cloud applications like Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, InDesign, Muse, After Effects... has two commands in Edit menu: Cut and Clear. If you ever wonder what is the difference between cutting and clearing content this post offers explanation.

Cut and Clear commands explained

Cut command will delete selected object(s) (Illustrator, InDesign) or whatever is inside selection (Photoshop) and store deleted content in computer clipboard so you can paste it somewhere else.
Use Cut command to delete content and store it in computer clipboard
Cut command will delete selected object(s) or whatever is inside selection (Photoshop) and store deleted content in computer clipboard so you can paste it somewhere else

Clear command will delete selected object or whatever is selected (Illustrator, InDesign) or inside selection (Photoshop) and you won't be able to paste that content anywhere else.
Use Clear command to delete content
Cut command will delete selected object(s) or whatever is inside selection (Photoshop) and you won't be able to paste deleted content

Note: when you are working with vector objects in Photoshop, object must be selected (use Direct Selection Tool). When working with pixels ensure that proper layer from which you want to Cut/Clear content is active.

Cut and Clear when used one after another

Now you have questions: what if I cut something to paste on another page, artboard, layer... but there is something else that you forget to delete? Can I use Clear command after using Cut and how that will affect content sent to computer clipboard using the Cut command?

The answer is: you can use Cut command to delete content and store it in computer clipboard and immediately after that to use Clear command as many times as you want without to affect content stored in computer clipboard.
Use Paste command to paste content deleted using Cut command
You can paste content deleted using Cut command even after using Clear command in between Cut and Paste.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How to Change Artboard Size in Adobe Photoshop

Free Puzzle Pieces Actions For Photoshop and Elements

Old Weathered Vertical Wooden Planks Free Image